Assignment 3: Chiaroscuro: hand

For this next project, I wanted to try to create an image of a hand- also inspired by the 19th century photo.

I drew my own one, and planned a series of steps:

  1. Stop out acrylic marker for whites
  2. Aquatint layer
  3. 3 sets of greys: 30 seconds, 1 minute (for the background) and 3 minutes exposure
  4. Soft lines/ shadows on soft ground
  5. Fine lines on hard ground (Lascaux)

 

IMG_3707

IMG_3722

I photographed with lateral light:

IMG_3643

The final version came out very hard though, because the acrylic liner gives very hard edges. I thought the subsequent layers would work to break them down, but they stayed quite hard. This is the version with the plan for the hard lines.

IMG_3708

It ended up rather scary, considering it was my own hand. It looks flayed, and I somehow lost the greys.

 

IMG_3714

I tried to compensate for the hardness by printing on soft paper again. I need to do a monoprint or something to tone down all the lines, and the hard edges of white. How could I have reversed that during the etch?

IMG_3712

IMG_3715

 

 

Author: chrisocaprintingblog

Studying visual arts part-time with the Open College of the Arts

Leave a Reply

